May 10, 2016

Eighteen community leaders joined the ranks of Leadership Southside alumni as they graduated on Monday night during the Annual Awards Dinner of the Danville Pittsylvania County Chamber of Commerce, held at the Institute for Advanced Learning & Research. With the latest class, 443 people have now completed the community leadership program for Danville and Pittsylvania County which is sponsored by the Chamber.  Monday night’s class represented the 21st class to complete the program.          

Leadership Southside began in 1993 as a joint program of the former Danville Area and Pittsylvania County Chambers of Commerce. Prior to 1993, both Chambers had separate leadership programs.

Over the last 23 years the leadership program has undergone changes which have enhanced the program and the program’s ability to better prepare participants for leadership roles in their careers and in the community. The program includes a strong emphasis on leadership styles, team building, visioning, transformational leadership, problem-solving, facilitation, and crisis leadership.

Leadership Southside XXI first met in August 2015 and continued meeting monthly for a course of study through April of 2016.

During the awards ceremony, Bert Eades, Chair-Elect of the Chamber’s Board of Directors, and John Daniel, Chair of the Chamber’s Board of Directors, recognized the following graduates:

  • Leslie Barksdale of Dewberry
  • Michelle Bridges of Carlisle School
  • Dr. Jamie Daniel of Daniel Chiropractic
  • Phillip Gardner of Danville Golf Club
  • Neal Hardy-Meyer of Carlisle School
  • Karen Harris of God's Storehouse
  • Nikki Harris of Dan River Region Association of Realtors
  • Mike Jefferson of the City of Danville Fire Department
  • Mary Jones of URW Community Federal Credit Union
  • Brenda LeCocq of Virginia International Raceway
  • Dana Mehalko of Averett University
  • Melissa Newton of Danville Public Schools
  • Bethany Osborne of Nestle USA
  • Melany Stowe of the Institute for Advanced Learning & Research
  • Angela Turner of Danville Community College
  • Anna Claire Turpin of Congressman Robert Hurt's Office
  • Jessie Vernon of the Institute for Advanced Learning & Research
  • Christie Wall of Supply Resources